SAMOS XIII - Keynotes and Beachnote   

The agenda of the conference includes three keynotes and one beachnote. The speakers are listed in the following.



Rethinking Computer Architecture for Throughput Computing

Prof. Wen-mei W. Hwu
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and MulticoreWare Inc., United States

Wen-mei W. Hwu is a Professor and holds the Sanders-AMD Endowed Chair in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is also CTO of MulticoreWare Inc., chief scientist of UIUC Parallel Computing Institute and director of the IMPACT research group ( He directs the UIUC CUDA Center of Excellence and serves as one of the principal investigators of the $208M NSF Blue Waters Petascale computer project. For his contributions, he received the ACM SigArch Maurice Wilkes Award, the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award, the ISCA Influential Paper Award, and the Distinguished Alumni Award in Computer Science of the University of California, Berkeley. He is a fellow of IEEE and ACM. Dr. Hwu received his Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley.

Abstract PDF

July 15, 2013


What cloud computing can teach us about embedded many-core programming?

Dr. András Vajda
Cloud Management Driver at Ericsson, Finland

András Vajda holds the title of expert in cloud computing within Ericsson's global cloud computing program, focusing on the complete operational and business support system stack for Ericsson's offering. Previously, Vajda held positions within Ericsson Research and the Networks business unit. Within Ericsson Research he was one of the initiators of Ericsson's cloud research efforts, driving the strategy and architecture work; he was also responsible for co-ordinating Ericsson's software research activities and the interaction with external parties in the area of many-core programming. At the business unit Networks he was the chief architect of the Ericsson Gateway for Mobile Networks and contributed to the development of other network elements, such as the 3G Radio Network Controller. Vajda also represents and represented Ericsson in the steering groups of several international and national initiatives, such as the European Network of Excellence for High-Performance Embedded Architecture and Compilers (HIPEAC). He is the author of the book "Programming Many-core Chips", published by Springer in 2011.

Abstract PDF
July 16, 2013


Faster Unicores are Still Needed

Prof. André Seznec

André Seznec is currently a Senior Research Director at INRIA Rennes, France. He has been leading the CAPS (Compiler Parallel Architecture and Systems) project-team at INRIA Rennes from 1994 to 2008. In 2009, he has created the ALF project-team that he is currently leading. In 1999-2000, Dr. Seznec spent a sabbatical year with the Alpha Development Group at Compaq. Since 1983, André Seznec has focused his research on computer architecture. He initially worked on supercomputer architectures targeting scientific applications. Since 1991, André Seznec main research activity has ported on the architecture of microprocessors. He has made major contributions on pipeline, multithreading and multicores, however his most widely recognized works target caches structure and branch predictors for which he got the first Intel Research Impact Medal in 2012. Dr. Seznec was the first computer architect to receive an advanced ERC grant in 2010 for the DAL, Defying Amdahl's Law project. DAL aims at increasing sequential performance on future multi/manycores.

Abstract PDF

July 17, 2013


Prof. Yale N. Patt
University of Texas at Austin, Austin, United States

Yale Patt is the Ernest Cockrell, Jr., Centennial Chair in Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, where he directs the research of eight PhD students while enjoying an active consulting practice with several microprocessor manufacturers. He regularly teaches the required Introduction to Computing course to more than 400 freshmen, and his advanced graduate course in Microarchitecture to those planning careers as cutting‐edge computer architects. Some of his research ideas have ended up in the cutting‐edge chips of Intel, AMD, etc., and some of his teaching ideas have resulted in his motivated bottom‐up approach for introducing computing to serious students. He has received many of the highest honors in the field for both his research and teaching, including the 1996 IEEE/ACM Eckert‐Mauchly Award, and the 2000 ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award. He is a Fellow of both the IEEE and ACM.

July 15, 2013